Mexican Inspired Zero Points Weight Watchers Soup

This is a really flavorful soup that you can eat as is, or add leftover chicken or black beans to turn the soup into a more substantial meal without adding a lot of points or calories. There are a lot of ingredients, but it goes together quickly.

Recipe from Weight Watchers

Servers 12

2 cups green beans, cut into bite-sized pieces

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 small zucchini, cubed

1 cup tomatillos, chopped

1 medium jalapeno pepper, minced

14 oz canned diced tomatoes, Mexican style preferred

1/2 medium poblano pepper, diced

1 medium Spanish onion, chopped

1 medium green pepper, chopped

1/2 tsp cumin

1 tsp fresh oregano, chopped

6 cups vegetable broth

2 roasted red bell peppers, chopped

1 tbs chipolte peppers in adobo sauce, minced

3/4 tsp salt

2 tbs fresh lime juice

1/2 cup fresh cilantro

Combine all ingredients in soup pot except lime and cilantro. Simmer until tender. Finish with lime and cilantro.

5 Responses to “Mexican Inspired Zero Points Weight Watchers Soup”

  1. s.a.s.h.a Says:

    Hi Kristi,

    Thanks for the freezing link!

    I will read and learn from there. =)

    Cheers,
    Sharon

  2. s.a.s.h.a Says:

    Hi Kristi,

    My bf do not like me freezing food. He feels that it is not safe and he worries when I eat leftover. Could be some previous bad experiences. However, I still do that once in a while, sometimes secretly! =P

    Yes, I prefer few ingredients’ recipes! I do not like to stock up a lot of food. Sometimes my week’s planning is not in order, sometimes I buy and forgot about it until it started to go bad. I have to admit that I have wasted a lot of food because of it. So, nowadays, I only buy when I feel like cooking! Haha…

    Thanks for the advise!

    Cheers,
    Sharon

  3. krimkus Says:

    I need to follow your example. I’m used to buying for a family, but it’s just the two of us now. I know what you mean about throwing away good food. I hate that, it’s money down the drain. Scaling back would help my budget too.

    If your bf is worried about freezing foods here is the USDA website that provides guidelines for freezing foods. http://www.fsis.usda.gov/fact_sheets/focus_on_freezing/index.asp
    I wouldn’t have been able to afford to feed my kids without freezing foods that are on sale. I had my own veggie garden and would freeze all kinds of vegetables to use later.

    Kristi

  4. s.a.s.h.a Says:

    Hi there,

    I see that you are making a lot of healthy food recently! Great job! Might try out your light salads one of these days. The not so great side is that I am only cooking for two and my bf is not a vege person!!! =(

    Cheers~
    Sharon

  5. krimkus Says:

    I know what you mean about cooking for two. My kids have moved away now, so it’s just my husband and I. I freeze a lot of food, and eat a lot of leftovers for lunch. Your pepper and mushroom pasta looks great. http://notmieleguide.wordpress.com/2009/03/25/pepper-mushroom-pasta/ – I have some roasted bell peppers I’m going to try it with. I love recipes that don’t take a ton of ingredients.

    Kristi


Leave a Reply

