Ummmm, Ummmm! Roasted Vegetables

My Gold Mine of Carrots

My Gold Mine of Carrots

Guess what? I found a gold mine in my vegetable garden this week! I was turning over the dirt in my garden and found carrots! Not just a few, but a few pounds! They were buried under a foot of dirt in a big jumble. Needless to say I couldn’t waste them, so I roasted them (short of the bag I sent over to my mother’s carrot-eating dog), and made a tarragon roasted carrot soup. I waste nothing.

I love to roast veggies. I made a roasted Roma tomato and  garlic sauce when I made the roasted carrot soup. You can roast almost anything and come up with a caramelized, sweet, nutty version of the vegetable you’re roasting. Bell peppers are a classic, as is garlic. Asparagus, broccoli, and squash all work just fine too.

Roasted Carrots

Roasted Carrots

Eat them as a side dish, puree into soups, chop into salads, roll into wraps, top pizzas. Ideas are endless and the flavor is amazing.

  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Chop or slice veggies into pieces.
  3. Lightly toss with olive oil. Don’t believe recipes that say you have to use a lot of olive oil, not true. I toss with very little olive oil, or spray with olive oil cooking spray.
  4. Toss with herbs that you like. Thyme works with almost anything. Salt and pepper to your taste.
  5. Bake in oven until tender. Asparagus and broccoli you don’t want too well done, but squashes and peppers should be tender and lightly browned.

Happy roasting!

5 Responses to “Ummmm, Ummmm! Roasted Vegetables”

  1. s.a.s.h.a Says:

    Thank you! =)

  2. s.a.s.h.a Says:

    I see.

    I have no idea where’s “Coscto”. I’m from Singapore actually. =)

    Where are you from?

  3. krimkus Says:

    I’m from the United States, in Washington State. Costco is a large wholesale store where you can buy all kinds of things. I loved your blog, especially the title. Great post on the dangers of red meat.

  4. s.a.s.h.a Says:

    Great job!

    I wish I have a bed of carrots too!!!

    I love roasted peppers with cheese the most…

    Thanks for the recipes.

  5. krimkus Says:

    Thank you. I’m having a lot of fun. I love roasted red bell peppers. This time of year they are still a bit expensive, but worth it. Coscto sells the red, yellow and orange peppers in a bag of six. They aren’t quite as expensive, it’s just everything else you buy when you’re there that puts a dent in the budget. 🙂


Leave a Reply

