Chicken Chili

One of my favorite ways to use leftover chicken (and pork), is to make a quick chili. I keep all types of canned beans and diced tomatoes in my pantry. Chili beans, black beans, kidney beans, etc. (I rinse my beans prior to cooking). Canned tomatoes can be purchased with all kinds of seasonings as well.

I usually start with some sauted chopped onion and garlic, add the beans, tomatoes, and chicken or pork. Season to taste with chili powder, or my favorite, chipotle powder or sauce. If I have cilantro and lime, I’ll add this for a fresh taste.

Serve with a few baked chips, and light or fat free sour cream. This meal takes me less than 20 minutes to prepare because the ingredients just need to blend flavors. Chili is also a weight watcher’s dream because it’s full of fiber and protein. Satisfying and staves off hunger for hours.

Leave a Reply

