Asparagus with Anchovies and Garlic

Asparagus with Salmon and Horseradish Sauce

I have to admit that I have never cooked with anchovies (short of Caesar salad). The combination of garlic, anchovy (so mild I wouldn’t have known what it was if I hadn’t added myself), and red pepper, really add a savory taste to the asparagus.

I found this recipe on Eatingwell. It called for more olive oil than I would have liked, so I cut the olive oil, and used vegetable broth instead. I use this method all the time. I add small amounts of broth (tablespoons at a time), and as it reduces if the pan gets too dry, I add a bit more, until desired doneness.

Makes 2 servings

1 tsp olive oil

1 tbs minced garlic

1/8 tsp crushed red pepper

1 bunch asparagus

4 tbs vegetable or chicken broth (more if necessary)

1 tsp anchovy paste

Heat oil in skillet and add garlic and pepper. Cook one minute until fragrant. Add asparagus and 1 tbs broth, and anchovy. Cook til crisp tender, adding broth as needed to keep veggies moist while they saute.

Nutrition Facts

Calories 65
Total Fat 3g
Saturated Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 5mg
Carbohydrates 9g
Fiber 5g
Protein 5 g

WW Points 1

One Response to “Asparagus with Anchovies and Garlic”

  1. Neighbor Nancy Says:

    Mmmm… when spring finally comes to my neck of the woods, yours will be the first recipe I try after I cut my first tender shoot from the Asparagus patch.


Leave a Reply

