Easy Bean Soup

A friend where I work, provided this recipe. It’s a crazy recipe in its simplicity. We truly didn’t add anything to it. Men really love it. The key is to make sure you find canned diced tomato with a Mexican flavor. I’ve used lean turkey kielbasa and it was just as wonderful, and probably a bit leaner. Don’t be tempted to rinse the beans (for obvious reasons), the starch in the sauce from the canned beans thickens the sauce.

I love this for a simple supper to make after work. You can top with a light sour cream (fat free sour cream lacks flavor and calories saved are very few).

Serves 6

Ingredients

1    ea    Hillshire Polish Sausage — sliced
15    oz    Pinquinto Beans
15    oz    White Beans
15    oz    Black Beans
15    oz    Kidney Beans
30    oz    Mild Mexican Garden Sauce

Instructions:

Brown sausage in soup pan. Add remaining ingredients including juices in pan and cook 10 minutes.

Nutrition Information:
Calories 325
Total Fat 13g
Saturated Fat 4g
Trans Fat 0
Cholesterol 26mg
Sodium 1510
Carbohydrate 38g
Fiber 10g
Sugar 0
Protein 17g

WW Points 7

One Response to “Easy Bean Soup”

  1. (Aunt) Mary Williams Says:

    Hi Kristi, I’m your great aunt Mary Williams from Napa, California. I’m 81 years old and do not do a a lot of cooking if I can help it. I spoke with your Mother last night and she gave me your website. I was going to submit a recipe but was confused as to how to do it. I have a good Chili recipe that I got at Weight Watchers. I tried it and thought it was very good.

    I’m a member of Weight Watchers at goal. I go to a meeting every week because I have a friend that hasn’t reached her goal yet and I want to help her to keep going.

    Give me directions as how to post my recipe and I would be glad to contribute.


Leave a Reply

