My Grandma’s Finnish Pasties

Submitted by Karen Bernsee 

Grandpa Sepanen loved a dot of butter on his bites, my husband liked gravy with his. This is my Grandma Sepanen’s recipe, so the amount of ingredients depends on the veggies you like. Good to cook and freeze for a quick meal. These ingredients make a lot of pasties so if you run out of shells, you can make soup.

6 pie shells

2 1/2 lbs. round steak
8 large potatoes
4 average parsnips
2 average rutabegas
6 average carrots
2 medium onions
2 medium turnips

I cut the meat and all veggies into small pieces. Cook the meat and onions in a pan until tender. Mix everything together in a large bowl and add the seasonings you like. Make your pie crust. I’m not good at this so I buy the package pie mix. Put the meat and veggies in the center of a round pie crust. Dot with butter, close and seal. Bake in a 400 F oven for about an hour. Just watch until the crust gets golden. You should be able to smell that wonderful pasty cooking. Enjoy.

Calories 387
Total Fat 9.4g
Sodium 86mg
Dietary Fiber 6.5g
Sugars 4.4g
Protein 33.0g

Leave a comment